Appointments Committee rejects Oppong Nkrumah, Hawa Koomson but approves 22 others

Appointments Committee rejects Oppong Nkrumah, Hawa Koomson but approves 22 others

Information-Minister designate, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah and Minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Mavis Hawa Koomson have been rejected by the minority members on the appointments committee.

The Minister-designate for Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, has also been rejected by the Minority members citing arrogance on the part of the nominee.

READ MORE: Allow LGBTQ+ To Be Taught In Schools – Former GES Director-General Aheto-Tsegah Says

The minority members also accuse Oppong Nkrumah of inciting the Supreme Court against a member of the legal team of the petitioners, Dominic Ayine, who was cited for contempt in the ongoing election petition. The minority members also rejected Hawa Kommson stating that she was unfit for the ministry.

However, Twenty-two ministerial nominees of President Akufo-Addo have been unanimously approved by the Appointments Committee of Parliament, according to Ibrahim Alhassan, EIB’s Parliamentary correspondent.

The committee is also demanding clarification on five others while the three rejected may require majority decision via voting on the floor of Parliament.

READ MORE:  John Mahama Signed Contract With LGBTQI+ Community For Them To Open Office At Accra To Reduce His Election Debts- Chairman Wontumi

The Minority side of the Appointments Committee will formally communicate to the appropriate authorities to indicate the clarifications they need with regard to the remaining five nominations of President Akufo-Addo.

According to Ibrahim Alhassan, the approval of the Roads and Highways minister-designate, Kwesi Amoako-Atta, the Minister-designate for Communications and Digitization, Ursula Owusu Ekuful, and the Health Minister-designate are hanging in the balance.

The approval of John Peter Amewu, the former Minister for Energy who supervised the PDS deal and has been nominated by the president to serve as the Minister for Railways Development and the Attorney General and Minister for Justice designate are also on hold.

READ MORE:  President Akufo-Addo Rejected $2 Billion Cash Offer From LGBTQI+ Community- Abronye Reveals